Honda Pilot statistics span manufacturer specifications, IIHS controlled safety tests and VIN-specific recall notices. The figures below cover United States model years 2023–2026 where stated, with 2024 and 2025 specifications separated from test results and recall information.
Key Honda Pilot Statistics
The most useful headline figures are:
- In the United States 2024 model year, the Pilot started at $37,090 MSRP before destination, options and taxes.
- In the United States 2024 model year, the Pilot seated up to 8 occupants depending on configuration.
- In the United States 2024 model year, the Pilot used a 285-horsepower V-6.
- In the United States 2024 model year, maximum advertised towing capacity was 5,000 pounds under Honda’s stated conditions.
- In the United States 2024 model year, the headline fuel-economy estimate was 19 mpg city and 27 mpg highway.
- In the United States 2024 model year, TrailSport was advertised at 18 mpg city and 23 mpg highway.
- In the United States 2025 model year, 2WD versions were listed at 3,500 pounds of towing capacity with required equipment.
- In the United States 2025 model year, AWD versions were listed at 5,000 pounds of towing capacity with required equipment.
- In the United States 2025 model year, the specified roof-attachment setup had a 140.5-pound maximum roof load.
- In IIHS’s 2023 test, the Pilot avoided a crossing-child collision at 12 mph in daytime testing.
- In IIHS’s 2023 test, impact speed against a crossing child at 25 mph was reduced by 20 mph.
- In IIHS’s 2023 test, the Pilot avoided a parallel-adult collision at 37 mph and warned 2.2 seconds before impact.
- In the United States 2023–2026 model-year rating range, the driver-side small-overlap frontal rating was Good overall.
- In the 2023 IIHS crash test, maximum chest compression measured 23 mm for the driver dummy.
- In the 2023 IIHS crash test, driver-side footrest intrusion measured 7 cm.
- In the 2023–2026 model-year rating range, the Pilot’s headlights were rated Good for all listed trims.
- In the 2023 IIHS lighting test, high beams reached at least 5 lux for 146.6 m on the straightaway right edge.
- In the 2023 IIHS child-seat-anchor evaluation, 4 rear seating positions had complete LATCH hardware.
- In the United States recall announced in November 2024, campaign 24V-900 covered certain 2023–2024 Passport and 2023–2025 Pilot vehicles.
Contents
- Key Honda Pilot Statistics
- Honda Pilot price, seating and core measurement data
- Honda Pilot engine, fuel economy and towing statistics
- Honda Pilot safety ratings and pedestrian-crash prevention data
- Honda Pilot crash-test injury and intrusion measurements
- Honda Pilot lighting, restraint and child-seat statistics
- Honda Pilot recalls and model-year ownership-safety context
Honda Pilot Price, Seating and Core Measurement Data
Honda’s United States specifications describe the 2024 Pilot as a three-row vehicle with a starting price, maximum seating statement and available drivetrain equipment. These are manufacturer-listed specifications, not owner averages or independently measured fleet outcomes.
| Measure | 2024 Pilot figure | Definition and scope |
|---|---|---|
| Starting MSRP | $37,090 | United States; destination, options and taxes excluded |
| Maximum seating | 8 occupants | Configuration and trim can change capacity |
| All-wheel drive | Available i-VTM4 | Not standard across every trim |
| TrailSport clearance | Nearly 1 inch additional | Honda’s rounded comparison with other described versions |
The 2024 Honda Pilot – SUV | Honda page lists the $37,090 starting MSRP and seating capacity. Its i-VTM4 statement describes availability rather than universal equipment, while the nearly 1-inch TrailSport figure is a rounded comparative description rather than a full trim-by-trim measurement table.
Honda’s 2025 brochure also listed a 140.5-pound maximum roof load for its specified roof-attachment setup. That number applies to the stated roof-load arrangement and should not be read as the Pilot’s general payload capacity.
Honda Pilot Engine, Fuel Economy and Towing Statistics
Power and towing figures vary by model year, drivetrain and equipment. Honda’s headline 2024 figures and the 2025 brochure figures therefore belong in separate comparisons.
| Model year and configuration | Engine or towing figure | Fuel-economy estimate |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 Pilot | 285-horsepower V-6 | 19 mpg city / 27 mpg highway headline rating |
| 2024 TrailSport | 5,000-pound maximum advertised towing capacity | 18 mpg city / 23 mpg highway |
| 2025 2WD | 3,500-pound towing capacity | Not specified in supplied figure |
| 2025 AWD | 5,000-pound towing capacity | Not specified in supplied figure |
The 2024 Honda Pilot – SUV | Honda page reports the 285-horsepower V-6, 5,000-pound maximum advertised towing capacity and headline 19/27 mpg city/highway estimate. The fuel-economy numbers are EPA-style label values and actual results vary with driving, weather, load and configuration.
Honda’s 2024 examples said the 5,000-pound capability could cover a 24-foot camper or a 22-foot boat. Those are examples supplied by Honda, not universal compatibility guarantees; loaded weight and the towing setup determine actual suitability.
For 2025, Honda’s brochure listed 3,500 pounds for 2WD versions and 5,000 pounds for AWD versions, each subject to the brochure’s stated configuration and required equipment. The TrailSport 18/23 mpg estimate is trim-specific and is not a fleet average or owner-observed value.
Honda Pilot Safety Ratings and Pedestrian-Crash Prevention Data
IIHS results describe controlled tests rather than population injury rates, crash frequencies or guarantees of real-world performance. The 2023 Pilot test is carried forward in the IIHS listing for the 2023–2026 model years where stated.
The 2026 Honda Pilot | IIHS vehicle ratings page gives the driver-side small-overlap frontal evaluation a Good overall rating for 2023–26 models, based on a 2023 Pilot test. The rating is a test classification, not a probability of avoiding a crash in ordinary driving.
The 2023 IIHS pedestrian-prevention trials produced these daytime outcomes:
- The Pilot avoided a crossing-child collision at 12 mph.
- At 25 mph against a crossing child, impact speed was reduced by 20 mph.
- The Pilot avoided a crossing-adult collision at 12 mph and at 25 mph.
- The Pilot avoided a parallel-adult collision at 25 mph.
- In the parallel-adult 37-mph test, it avoided a collision and warned 2.2 seconds before impact.
At night, the Pilot avoided a crossing-adult collision at 12 mph with high beams and at 25 mph with low beams. In the parallel-adult 37-mph test, high beams reduced impact speed by 34 mph and low beams reduced it by 28 mph.
These pedestrian results are from the 2023 Honda Pilot | IIHS vehicle ratings controlled test track. Warning timing and impact-speed reduction vary with the scenario, and the test uses surrogate targets.
Honda Pilot Crash-Test Injury and Intrusion Measurements
The IIHS 2023 driver-side small-overlap test reports dummy biomechanics and vehicle intrusion measurements. They are technical readings from one controlled crash, not observed injury rates or real-world injury probabilities.
| 2023 IIHS measure | Result | What it measures |
|---|---|---|
| HIC-15 head value | 104 | Driver dummy head measurement |
| Neck tension | 0.6 kN | Driver dummy neck load |
| Neck extension bending moment | 9 Nm | Driver dummy neck measurement |
| Maximum Nij | 0.17 | Dummy biomechanics index |
| Maximum chest compression | 23 mm | Driver dummy chest measurement |
The same test recorded 2 cm of lower hinge-pillar intrusion, 7 cm of footrest intrusion, 5 cm of left toepan intrusion and 5 cm of brake-pedal intrusion. The rocker-panel lateral-average intrusion was 0 cm, while upper hinge-pillar maximum intrusion measured 1 cm, upper-dash intrusion 2 cm and lower-instrument-panel intrusion 1 cm.
These figures appear in the 2026 Honda Pilot | IIHS vehicle ratings. The measurements should be read as component-specific results from a particular crash configuration, not as a complete description of every crash mode.
Honda Pilot Lighting, Restraint and Child-Seat Statistics
IIHS rated the Pilot’s headlights Good for all trims in the listed 2023–2026 range. The rating applies to the tested lighting configuration and stated trim coverage.
| Lighting condition | Distance at or above 5 lux | Test location |
|---|---|---|
| Low beams | 98.3 m | Straightaway right edge |
| Low beams | 56.0 m | Straightaway left edge |
| High beams | 146.6 m | Straightaway right edge |
| High beams | 139.1 m | Straightaway left edge |
The 2026 Honda Pilot | IIHS vehicle ratings reports these 2023 test-track lighting distances, carried forward to the listed model years. They are measurements under IIHS conditions rather than nighttime visibility averages for drivers.
For 2023–2025 models, IIHS rated the seat-belt reminder system Good. At 24 km/h, the controlled test recorded 51 dB of background cabin sound, a 70 dB reminder signal and a 19.6 dB excess over background; this is not a seat-belt-use rate.
The 2023 child-seat-anchor evaluation found 4 rear seating positions with complete LATCH hardware and 2 additional rear seating positions with a tether anchor only. This hardware assessment does not establish child-seat fit for every product.
The seat-belt and LATCH results are reported by 2023 Honda Pilot | IIHS vehicle ratings, with applicability carried forward to 2023–26 where specified.
Honda Pilot Recalls and Model-Year Ownership-Safety Context
Recall notices identify potentially affected vehicles, not the number of vehicles affected or the completion rate. Coverage is VIN-specific, so a model-year range alone cannot confirm whether an individual Pilot needs service.
NHTSA campaign 24V-900, announced in November 2024, covered certain 2023–2024 Passport and 2023–2025 Pilot vehicles in the United States. The Honda Service Bulletin 24-133: Safety Recall 2023-24 Passport, 2023-25 Pilot Fuel Tank Fill Pipe Inspection describes an incompletely connected fuel-filler tube and filler pipe, with applicability determined by VIN and the prescribed inspection remedy.
A separate bulletin covered all trims of the 2016 Pilot and 2018–19 Pilot for the connecting-rod-bearing campaign. The Honda Service Bulletin 24-001: Safety Recall 2016 and 2018–19 Pilot Connecting Rod Bearing was revised in March 2025, but eligibility remains VIN-specific and requires a dealer status inquiry.
These recall figures describe campaign scope and defect descriptions, not ownership prevalence. For a particular vehicle, the VIN check is the relevant measure of open recall status.